Skip to content

Archive for


Central States Regional Ethics Bowl Champions

Regional Ethics Bowl team 2012

This past weekend the Taylor Ethics Bowl team won the Central States Regional Championship!  This is their second regional championship in the last three years, and the third in our history (since 2000).  But what is even more impressive is that all three Taylor University teams finished in the top four (1st, 2nd, and 4th), out of 20 teams.

The other schools that competed included Belmont U., Butler U., DePauw U., Eastern Kentucky, Indiana U., Xavier College, Wright State U., U. of Southern Indiana, Marian U., Illinois Wesleyan U., St. Olaf College, and the College of Mt. Joseph.  The cases debated in the competition, as always, covered a broad range of issues.  This year the issues were drug legalization, gay conversion therapy, the ethics of “street art,” racial bias in death penalty rulings, the justice of a student loan forgiveness act, and the ethics of medical experimentation on animals.

At regionals, the top four teams qualify for the national tournament in San Antonio, Texas, which will take place on February 28, 2013. So technically, all three of our teams qualified.  But since each school can only send one team (with a maximum of 5 students) to nationals, Taylor will have to select that team from among the 12 E-Bowlers who competed this past weekend. Those 12 students are Jess Biermann, Nathaniel Cullen, Kasey Leander, Brianna Leever, Davis Meadors, Suzanne Neefus, Abigail Pollock, Sarah Sawicki, Mark Taylor, Veronica Toth, Stephen Weick, and Tom Weingartner. The team is coached by professor Jim Spiegel, who is assisted by Cathy Kerton-Johnson.